Week 2: Femme Fighting (NaNo2013 Edition)

1188945_64181700byfreetrader

“Running during a fight is a sure way to get a bullet in the back. And all of these men are good shots, better shots than they are fighters. Or men,” Jewel said. “Especially for a situation just like you’re describing. We’ve tried, all right? We tried and we didn’t get very far. The ones that didn’t die ended up in the Zone, worse than where they started. So excuse me if I sound like I’ve heard this chorus before. Let me know when you get to the bridge so I know that there’s something none of us have heard before.”

Word count: 31,015 words

Words written since Week 1: 15,952 words

That “words written since” number should go up by next week, since Week 1 was actually four days instead of a whole week. Also, I have an Overnight of Typing Furiously coming up on Friday night, which should up the word count as well. In fact, I should probably reach 50k by Friday.

I have reached the point where I don’t know whether this is all crap and an exercise in futility. I still don’t know what to think about this novel or whether it’s going to ever see the light of day. But as I’ve said before and will say again, I’m an emotional masochist. I want to at least finish it before I throw it into the trunk to never see it again.

Every time I ask myself if it’s too much for YA, content-wise, I remind myself of what I was like when I was YA and also remind myself that this is what some YAs go through every day. When I feel it is necessary for the story, I imply rather than go for stark exposure. I’m usually all about exposure, but I recognize the need for implication sometimes. I have three short paragraphs in my last chapter that were the hardest for me to write so far. And I have whole scenes of girls beating the crap out of each other. Just for the record, it’s not fun writing these thing. It’s just necessary. It’s part of the story. It’s part of the tragedy. Just how it is.

However, whether or not I’m okay with this story (is it YA, NA, regular adult, classic adult, adult lite? I hate these ever-expanding labels, y’all), I do really like all my femme fighting characters, and ever since I switched to third-person, I’ve connected much better to my MC, Peregrine. I like writing from her perspective, as long as I have a little distance.

You know, it’s funny. I’ve been slowly increasing my weekly quota for two years, and I’ve officially reached a point where the pace of NaNoWriMo seems leisurely in comparison to my own and I now shoot for reaching 50k in half the time that NNWM requires. That makes me laugh a little. I’m not complaining. I get more written more quickly that way.

Writing trends: My Young Adult novels are bleak with main characters that don’t talk much at all. My New Adult novels, however, are more optimistic with main characters that don’t shut up. Thank goodness my next novel is the third in the NA fairy tale remix series.

This entry was posted in Speculative, Work in Progress, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

