Freedom

"It's a dangerous business, going out your front door." -Fellowship of the Ring, J.R.R. Tolkien

“It’s a dangerous business, going out your front door.” -Fellowship of the Ring, J.R.R. Tolkien

I finally got through the third season of Castle, and the episode “Lucky Stiff” stuck out to me. Who doesn’t wonder what would happen if they won the lottery? At one point, Castle correctly points out that what people would do with a huge influx of money says a lot about them. And then Castle proceeds to detail exactly what money would mean for me. It means freedom.

BECKETT
You said earlier that money doesn’t change us, it just magnifies who we are. What did your windfall magnify in you?

CASTLE
My inner child. At first. Kind of like Hixton. The one who likes, you know, private jets, five-star everything. But then I realized the only luxury I truly care about is freedom. The freedom to write, spend time with Alexis. Having that money just … allows me to live life on my terms.

I don’t expect to be a multi-million dollar writer at any time. But at this point in my life – first struggling to make it past an absurdly low annual salary, then breaking out of that job and going to court reporting school in hopes that it gives me some kind of job security for at least ten years before technology replaces me – I realize that all I really want from life is the freedom to do something fulfilling with a majority of my years.

I never wanted fancy cars or houses or anything like that. I’m a relatively simple person. I do confess that I’m a bit of a Collector, which means that I amass certain possessions more than others – books, DVDs, jewelry, and to a lesser extent stuffed animals – but I don’t need a big house to hold those things, and there are ways to minimize the space taken up by those items. And, like the Joker said, they’re cheap.

If I could either make a decent living from writing or somehow amass the wealth necessary to write the rest of my life (whether I made a living from it or not), I would go that direction in a heartbeat. It’s not going to be a lottery win or a fortune from gambling or things like that, because I’m not a gambling woman. Like, at all.

I don’t have that opportunity right now, but that doesn’t stop the dream. It’s a dream I think lots of writers have.

This entry was posted in Article, Real Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

