Fairy Tale Remix Week 18

Words written since Week 17: 9,963

170067 / 200000 words. 85% done!

Tobin laughed humorlessly. “The dictionary has a picture of us under the definition of irony.”

The end is definitely in sight. If I had to guess, the end of the story will be around 190k. I passed by the story’s climax this last week, and the rest is very important denouement and tying up of many loose ends, and good god I have a lot of characters. Breathe, A, breathe, you have list. You won’t lose track of them. I hope.

If I can get through this week, which is my busy week of school and work, next week (which is my week off from work) should be really good for finishing things up.

What I have learned: If you know that the scope of your story is far greater than anything you’ve ever done before, start in February, not mid-March. Because you’ll end up with a novel that is twice your usual novel-length and therefore needs twice your usual time. I mean really, self, why do you do this to me?

I introduced two new characters (actually, a lot more, but these are the two that matter) in the last 10k words, and I’m still getting to know them, so I’m hoping that I can go back over their dialogue and actions later and make them more complicated-consistent and less two-dimensional. This happens for every new character, so I’m not too alarmed.

One perspective change that I expected to happen didn’t happen. I’m a little disappointed, since that scene from that perspective has been in my head since the beginning, but when I considered going back and changing things, I realized that 1) it wouldn’t work and 2) I could bring up the same mental stuff later in a retrospective plus realtime. Who knows, though? Maybe in the edits, I’ll put it in anyway if the later one doesn’t flow right. I don’t know when those blasted edits will be, but it’ll definitely be sometime next year. I wish they were earlier because I’m really excited about this novel, but I’ve got a full schedule the rest of the year.

This entry was posted in Adult, Fantasy, Work in Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fairy Tale Remix Week 18

  1. elinan says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog but you’ve managed to snare my attention 🙂

Leave a Reply

