Fairy Tale Remix Week 16

Words since Week 15: 12,111

150126 / 150000 words. 100% done!

“I don’t appreciate your Joan of Arc-ing. But God knows I can’t stop you,” Tobin said.

Well, I got my extra 2,000 words in and reached my arbitrary goal for the story (the less arbitrary goal is, you know, the end). I’ll move it up to 175k next week, because it feels disingenuous to be 100% done and not finished at the same time.

But sleep has certainly not been the word this week. What with school and writing and unusually bad cramps and arrhythmia, my week has been quite full and very tired. I’m hoping that the month or so of a break that I get after finishing the remix helps me get some well-needed rest and perhaps a soda detox.

Definitely a martini, y’all. There will be alcohol of some kind. And perhaps a pint of Blue Bell’s ice cream. Not at the same time. Because then there would be vomit, and that’s not very celebratory, no matter what the movies say.

The good news is that we’re in the middle of lots of action – in the middle of Chapter 14 – and I’m terrified it is going to get away from me and unravel and not make sense and I’ll have to start over from scratch. I’m worried that I’ll forget to put something in or that one of my characters is going to lose his or her mind and suddenly start acting strangely. But for now, I’m managing to keep everything together, however tenuously. Mostly, I think I’ll be happy when the action is over. Action doesn’t come very naturally to me. I’m getting better at dialogue, and I like character introspection, and through lots of practice, UST is my comfort zone. But I worry that I have the same issue as Stephen King has: good concept but substandard execution. I guess we’ll just have to see. I keep saying that because that’s all I can really say. I’m too close to it right now, and tired.

This entry was posted in Adult, Fantasy, Work in Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

