Fairy Tale Remix Week 12

Words written since Week 11: 9,968 words

110010 / 150000 words. 73% done!

Griffin fell forward onto his hands and dug his claws into the soil as his jaw opened unnaturally wide in an equally unnatural, ear-ringing roar.

Almost three-fourths through my arbitrary goal! Things are moving forward nicely. If I’m gauging things correctly, the 150k goal may not be too far off, although I really wouldn’t be surprised if my rough draft reached 175k at this juncture. I tend to write a lot and then cut the extraneous parts out – I don’t do quite as well adding to things as I do removing them.

I had a few moments this week where I was quite surprised to find myself struggling, because they’re areas I usually don’t struggle. But I forced my way through, even though it always feels like I’m doing horribly. I went back over them the next day, and it did not seem nearly as bad in retrospect, so I figure it was once again my writerly mind playing tricks on me. That’s why I write through even when I’m not feeling it, even when it’s not feeling right. I never know whether it’s good or bad until I go back.

Almost finished with Chapter 11, just on the edge of it, but when I reached my quota it was about 3 in the morning (it’s still within my week’s writing quota if I haven’t gone to bed yet), and I felt that since I’m writing 2k tonight, it would be nice to know where I’m going when I start. I’m still not sure about how I’ve arranged my character cast, but I guess I’ll just have to see how it works when I get into the part that’s fuzzy for me. After this chapter, we’ll have a bit of a rest from action, and then we head into the finale, followed by the denouement. The end is in sight, even if it won’t happen by June, like I wanted. Maybe by the end of June. I’ll probably write with the Camp NaNo people, which might help.

This entry was posted in Adult, Fantasy, Work in Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

