Fairy Tale Remix Week 7

Words written since Week 6: 9,938

65009 / 150000 words. 43% done!

“I feel like a spoiled heiress,” Olivia said. ...
“Don’t be ridiculous,” Tobin said. “You’re a spoiled self-made woman.”

I’m going to be honest, this last week’s writing was brutal. Things were not flowing at all, which tells me I’m either off on the plot direction or I’m off on character, and I’m leaning toward the latter. I think I’m going to have to do some real fixing to the introduction of my FBI agent, Ian. I think as I get to know him, it’ll be easier to go back and introduce him properly after I’ve got perspective. He does seem to have developed a peculiar habit of sticking his foot in his mouth, which I hadn’t expected, but which I find oddly endearing.

I was also able to start looking at things from one of my secondary protag characters, Tobin, which also gave me a chance to get to know him and his voice a little better. I’m back to my primary protag Olivia again, now that she’s awake, but it was still nice to be with Tobin for a while.

This last 10k was not great at all, but I think that now that they’re on the plane and headed out of the country (FINALLY), that should make a huge difference in my excitement levels, because now the fairy tale remix can happen in earnest.

I have this dreadful feeling sometimes that what I’m writing is boring, and I suspect that part of it is that I’m unused to writing without sexual tension, which electrifies a lot of novels. The UST (unresolved sexual tension) should arise later in the story, but right now it’s kind of tertiary and not a focus of the plot.

For now, I’ll attribute that feeling to the fact I’ve been writing this novel for a month and a half, devoting all my attention to it, and my attention is getting tired. I want to write a short story or two. I want to watch the third season of Castle, the sixth season of Bones, the last season of Angel, and the only season of Firefly. I want to read outside while the weather is so nice. I want to go to the mall. I want to make cookies. I want to go to the movies. There’s so much I’ve been wanting to do because my brain is just weary of doing one thing so consistently. I’m disciplined, but I’m only human. I’m hoping I get my second wind here soon, otherwise the rest of this month and next month are going to hurt.

By this time next week, I should be halfway to my 150k word count expectation. Good grief! I feel like I just crossed 50k.

This entry was posted in Adult, Fantasy, Work in Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

