Book Haul

Trailing my finger along the paper or fabric spines, speed-reading titles and authors and looking for something to jump out at me.

Custer Road United Methodist Church does a book fair every April to raise money for Project Transformation, a summer program in which interns sponsored by churches read to kids. This year, CRUMC is sponsoring five interns as opposed to their usual three.

Naturally, I always attend to give my support and add to my considerable library (and I donate if I have books I didn’t like or no longer need). Since it first started, inflation has kind of hit the fair, but I figure it’s for a good cause. Here’s what I got this time:

There’s a Girl in my Hammerlock, Jerry Spinelli: I had actually been thinking about this book a few days earlier and wondering whether I should get it. It was like it just fell into my lap. What are the odds?

The Demon’s Parchment, Jeri Westerson: I’ve never heard of it, but the title, cover, and the blurb seemed attractive enough.

Rose, Martin Cruz Smith: Once again, never heard of it. The title drew me in because I love roses, and the cover seemed to suggest a kind of supernatural vibe. The blurb almost confirmed it, so I’m looking forward to it and hoping for a sensual, Southern gothic ride.

Dead Until Dark, by Charlaine Harris: I haven’t watched theTrue Blood series, although it seems right up my alley and I plan to probably after the series has ended. Because that’s the way I roll lately.

The Road, Cormac McCarthy: I’ll prepare myself for bleak, and maybe I won’t lapse too deeply into depression like I did for The Passage. Seriously, no one warned me.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson: So glad this was in the mix, because I’ve been wanting to read it and just haven’t gotten to purchasing it.

The Color Purple, by Alice Walker: I haven’t read it yet. Nuff said.

Timeline, by Michael Crichton: He’s hit-and-miss for me, but I figure I’ll give it a try.

Spook, by Mary Roach: I’ve seen some of Mary Roach’s talks and heard good things about her, and I love science mixed with humor, so I’m looking forward to this.

Full Dark, No Stars, by Stephen King: One of the most beautiful King covers I’ve ever seen. I always troll for King novels I don’t have yet when I go to the book fair, and for the last few years, the harvest has been thin.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns, by Rae Carson: Another one I’m not familiar with, but the cover was gorgeous and the blurb intrigued me. See, everyone, we do judge books by their titles, covers, and blurbs. These things are important.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs: I actually have this in my Amazon wishlist, so I was pleased to find the hardback in the fray.

Judas Child, by Carol O’Connor: No idea what it’s about because I got the hardback without the jacket, so no blurb (Note to publishers, maybe put the blurb also in one of the front pages so that hardbacks that lose their jackets also don’t lose readers). But this time, just the title got me.

In general, a good haul, and many, many books added to my already long queue.

I do feel conflicted about getting books secondhand rather than supporting the authors directly. There’s this whole stink in music right now about piracy, but book writers are going, Whatever, dudes, this is what we’ve had to deal with since libraries, and it’s legal. Whenever I can, I try to support writers by buying books at retail prices. I feel less conflicted about getting the first book in a series secondhand, because if I like the series, I’ll usually make a point to buy the rest of the books retail.

On the other hand, when I buy from a book fair, I’ll usually consider books that aren’t even on my radar in retail, which opens to door to their other works or pointing other people in their direction, if I like them. Also, I can’t always afford retail, and it’s hard to pass up a bargain when it comes along. Also, charity.

This entry was posted in Real Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

