Fairy Tale Remix Week 5

Words written since Week 4: 11,368

45126 / 150000 words. 30% done!

“You mind telling me where the stories went wrong?”

Because of various factors, including a combination of work and school plus a splitting headache on Friday, I ended up having to write 9,000 of those words on Saturday and Sunday. I about blew a fuse in my head. I usually like to stop around 3,000 per day at the most, so that I can step back and figure out where I’m going to go next and so I can let my brain relax a little bit. On Saturday and Sunday night, I think I sleep-wrote for about one thousand of those words each; I can only hope it’s coherent. And at the same time, I was working on theTwilightseries review below, which ended up a lot longer than I originally planned.

So, this week, I basically finished Chapter 5 and almost finished Chapter 6. At this rate, I think I can expect to finish the novel at about the end of May, which seems very far away and like a lot of words. But at the same time, I’ve written 45,000 words in five weeks, and that’s pretty cool.

I was also able to get a good portion of a Beauty and the Beast retelling in this week, which was surprisingly fun, even if I was half-asleep writing it. I thought about all the BatB retellings that I’ve read or seen, and I hope I honored all of them as well as made my particular BatB-verse unique.

This week, I’m shooting for 55,000 by the end of the week, and I hope I don’t have to do 9,000 words in two days again. I kind of miss sleeping.

This entry was posted in Adult, Fantasy, Work in Progress, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

